TALI Advocacy

The Teacher Advocacy Leadership Institute (TALI) is a year-long fellowship for educators from public charter schools. TALI gives teachers from across the state the opportunity to connect with policy and advocacy experts and elected officials in order to strengthen their individual leadership skills and to learn how to become effective advocates for students and families.

TALI fellows receive monthly training that prepares them to elevate their voices and make a lasting impact. They write op-eds, testify at legislative hearings, and share their stories directly with lawmakers. The fellowship also brings together a community of teacher advocates who support each other’s work and share strategies as they fight on behalf of great public schools for all Texas children.

Contact Shreé Medlock, Vice President of Strategic Engagement

“For general assistance with advocacy questions or needs outside of the Central Texas or Houston areas, please contact our general advocacy email and a member from our advocacy team will follow up with you as soon as possible.  Thanks again, and welcome to the fight!

Charter schools enable teachers to…

Meet the 2019-2020 Fellows


Jennifer Cephus, KIPP Austin Leadership Academy

Tanya Reyes, Harmony Science Academy

Miriam Rodgers, Meridian World School

Mark Rogers, Austin Achieve Public Schools

Aryn van Steijn, Chaparral Star Academy

Amber Frasher, Harmony School Academy

Dallas and Fort Worth

Rachel Barrett, Leadership Preparatory School

Elena Creixell, Great Hearts Irving School

Sondra Hoppe, Education Center International Academy

Brandi Weaver, Legacy Preparatory Charter School

El Paso 

Valerie Astorga, Harmony School of Innovation

Marilyn Owens, Harmony School of Excellence


Ricca R Dickens, YES Prep Public Schools

Byron Hannah, YES Prep Fifth Ward

Camendra Jefferson, Ed.D., YES Prep Public Schools

Ryan Martinez, YES Prep Brays Oak

Mandy Peyrani, Harmony School of Endeavor

Debbie Ramos, YES Prep Brays Oak

Tamira Samuel, YES Prep Northline

Abigail Solis, YES Prep Hobby

Jillian Suan, YES Prep White Oak

San Antonio

Jennifer Aceves, School of Science and Technology Central Office

Brandon Aniol, Great Hearts Northern Oaks

Chanel Ashley, Harmony School of Innovation